HOME INSPECTION PROFESSIONALS

OF HALIFAX

YOUR LOCAL HOUSEMASTER TEAM

Each inspector at HouseMaster of Halifax knows what it takes to deliver the highest quality home inspection. We provide you with accurate information to help you make informed decisions regarding your new home. It’s what we’ve been doing since 1979, and it is part of what makes us the oldest and most trusted nationwide home inspection company. It’s easy to see why we are the preferred home inspection partner for real estate industry. Proudly serving the people of Dartmouth, Bedford, Chester, Porters Lake, Halifax and their neighboring communities.

MEET DOUG WHEATLEY

DOUG WHEATLEY IS PROUD TO SERVE THE HALIFAX AREA AS THE OWNER OF HOUSEMASTER HOME INSPECTIONS

<p>Originally from Ontario, Doug has resided in the Maritimes for over 30 years. Prior to working in the home inspection industry, Doug was in the business of designing, selling, and installing security, control, and entertainment systems. He worked closely with architects, housing contractors, and interior designers to integrate these systems, primarily into new-construction homes. In 2007, he took his experience in structured wiring and new construction and co-founded D&amp;S Inspection Services Limited (HouseMaster Nova Scotia). Trained at the National Institute of Building Inspectors, Doug has also taken continuing education classes from CAPHI (Canadian Association of Home and Property Inspectors).</p>
DAN BOYD

INSPECTOR

<p>Dan brings over 14 years experience and education as a certified Trainer, Designer and Architectural Engineering Technician; and has been a member for the past 8 years with the Nova Scotia Home Builders Association. Dan has&nbsp;completed certification training with the National Institute of Building Inspectors.</p> <ul> <li>Certified Radiant Hydronics technician (RHDT) License #5285</li> <li>Certified Residential Air System Design Technician (RASDT) License #5285 R-2000* Plan Evaluator - License #N-0183 - Certified by NRC</li> <li>R-2000* Inspector - License Number #N-0183 - Certified by NRC</li> <li>EnerGuide Rating System (ERS**) Energy Advisor - License #1619</li> <li>Residential Radiant Hydronics Design - Certified through HRAI</li> <li>Residential Mechanical Ventilation Installation - Certified through HRAI Residential Mechanical System Design - Certified through HRAI</li> </ul>
"Doug was very professional. Knowledgeable and really went through every inch of my home I was about to buy. He involved us in the process. Very genuine."

– Kim S March 2016
Fall River NS

"..excellent report, very thorough and excellent at explaining your thoughts"

– Gregory D April 2016
Timberlea NS

"Friendly, approachable, thorough and patient inspector. More than willing to explain things and to answer any questions. "

– Courtney H March 2016
Dartmouth NS

"The HouseMaster agent provided an extremely thorough inspection, answering every question we had. We are very pleased with the quality of service! "

– Candice C March 2016
Nine Mile River NS

I would definitely use this service again! The inspector was very thorough with all aspects of his inspection and was helpful with recommendations, tips & procedures for minor repairs that I can take care of myself.

– Doug B February 2016
Ship Harbour NS

"Doug, our home inspector was very professional and knowledgeable and answered any questions of concerns I had throughout the inspection"

– Casey C February 2016
Halifax NS

We can't thank you enough for the thorough inspection and detailed report. Having the pictures along with the details of each issue makes us feel reassured knowing what we are buying; especially not having been able to be there for the inspection or to see the home. Everything was covered that we had concerns about plus more, we couldn't be happier with the job that was done. Thank you so much for being able to complete the inspection so quickly and for doing a wonderful job. We can't wait to share our experience with future home buyers!

– Becki L May 2016
Bridgewater, NS

"The inspector was very friendly and informative. Being a first time home owner he provided detailed explanations, answered all questions I had and didn't make the process feel rushed. I was very happy with the experience and the inspection service I received"

– Ashley H November 2017
Halifax NS

INSPECTION SERVICES

ROOFING
EXTERIOR ELEMENTS
INTERIOR ELEMENTS
FOUNDATION AND SUBSTRUCTURE
KITCHEN
HEATING SYSTEM
COOLING SYSTEM
ELECTRICAL
PLUMBING
ROOFING

What we inspect: Visible roof covering materials, (shingles), flashings at roof penetrations and valleys, skylights, chimneys, gutters and downspouts. We assess the condition of these elements for proper function; looking for evidence of leakage or worn, damaged, or missing components. Watch us in action!

EXTERIOR ELEMENTS

Here is what we inspect: Visible siding and trim, windows, doors, garages, porches, decks, stairs, and railings. We assess the elements for proper construction and function; looking for damage, missing components or other conditions that might lead to infiltration or functional concerns. Watch us in action!

INTERIOR ELEMENTS

What we inspect: visible areas of all walls, ceilings, stairways, representative windows and doors, and attic areas for signs of leakage and damage, sagging or other structural concerns. Windows will be operated to determine function. In accessible attics, besides assessing structural components, we will note insulation and ventilation conditions. Watch us in action!

FOUNDATION AND SUBSTRUCTURE

What we inspect: Visible load-bearing framing components, foundation walls, slabs, piers and columns and major structural components. Visible, accessible structural components will be assessed for function and presence of damage, decay or defects. We look for water penetration at below grade areas. Watch us in action!

KITCHEN

What we inspect: Plumbing fixtures and built-in appliances. We check plumbing fixtures looking for water pressure or drainage issues and visible signs of leaks. We check basic operational modes of the appliances and ventilators and look at cabinets and countertops for significant deficiencies.  Watch us in action!

HEATING SYSTEM

What we inspect: Visible components of the central AC or heat pump system including condensers and air handlers, and the distribution ductwork. We operate the systemto assess function and condition of the accessible indoor/ outdoor components. The distribution system will also be assessed. Watch us in action!

COOLING SYSTEM

What we inspect: Visible components of the central AC or heat pump system including condensers and air handlers, and the distribution ductwork. We operate the systemto assess function and condition of the accessible indoor/ outdoor components. The distribution system will also be assessed. Watch us in action!

ELECTRICAL

What we inspect: Visible service panels components and household wiring and devices. We assess the condition of readily accessible panel components, note the presence of GFCIs, AFCIs, smoke alarms and check the operation of representative outlets, switches, fixtures and other devices. Watch us in action!

PLUMBING

What we inspect: Visible water supply piping, distribution piping, waste system piping, water heaters and plumbing fixtures. Also includes inspection of the physical condition of piping, kitchen and bathroom fixtures; tubs, showers, toilets, and operation to assess flow, drainage and leakage. Water heating components will also be assessed. Watch us in action!

ADDITIONAL SERVICES

RADON SCREENING
WATER TESTING
MOLD SCREENING
NEW CONSTRUCTION
COMMERCIAL /MULTIPLE DWELLING PROPERTY
WETT INSPECTIONS (Canada)
THERMAL IMAGING
RADON SCREENING

A short-term test is performed to determine the possible presence of elevated levels of radon gas pursuant to local regulations or practices for real estate transactions. Radon is an odorless, colorless and radioactive byproduct of natural soil decay known to increase the risk of cancer in those exposed.

WATER TESTING

Water testing services include taking a water sample following accepted protocols with analysis of samples performed by a certified lab. General options include a basic water Potability test for Coliform (bacteria) and other elements such as Nitrate/Nitrite, Hardness, Acidity (pH). Expanded testing options may include volatile organic compounds (fuels), heavy metals (lead, etc.) or other elements required or recommended by local authorities or common practice such as when a property is located in close proximity to agricultural land, mining, dry cleaning establishments, gas stations, industrial facilities, landfills, or other known or suspected local hazards exist.

MOLD SCREENING

Screening includes: air and/or surface (bulk) sampling to determine presence of elevated levels of mold spores or verify presence of a mold growth.  Includes one air sample in one interior area and one outdoor control sample, with surface sampling of random or requested suspect mold growths. Processed by a qualified lab to determine results.

NEW CONSTRUCTION

Inspections include: draw inspection (verification of installed elements for lender release of funds); phase inspections (conducted at several stages of the construction process); and inspections of new homes ready for occupancy and assessment of the condition of installed components to supplement code compliance inspection provided by local authorities.

COMMERCIAL /MULTIPLE DWELLING PROPERTY

Inspections include: inspection of the visible and readily accessible areas of the roof, structure, mechanical and electric components of the public areas of a building, as well as all or representative individual dwelling or office/store units, as requested by the client.

WETT INSPECTIONS (Canada)

A WETT inspection is an inspection of solid-fuel-burning fireplaces, stoves and other appliances conducted by an inspector trained and certified through programs conducted by the Wood Energy Technology Transfer, Inc. Includes inspection of all readily visible components of wood-burning fireplaces and appliances and connected chimneys to determine whether code compliant, installed correctly, properly maintained and safe. WETT inspections are often required in Canada in order to obtain homeowner insurance.

THERMAL IMAGING

Thermal imaging services make use of an infrared imaging camera that can detect the thermal energy (heat) emitted from an object. Thermal imaging measurements indicate temperature differentials that may help diagnose a myriad of potential concerns in a home or building such as heat loss or gain and waste leakage.